Story image

NZ Hi-Tech Awards recognise Innovative Kiwi businesses

24 May 2016

The 2016 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards results were announced in Auckland on Friday night, which honoured some of the country's innovative and successful businesses.

Flick Electric, an electricity retailer that has been in business for only two years, won the Vocus Communications Innovative Service Award.

According to Flick, it is the world's first platform that allows customers to choose their budgeted power price, which Flick then uses to bill customers on a weekly basis. Flick also provides web and mobile apps that provide feedback on customer power consumption and spending related to their budget.

Flick CEO Steve O'Connor says that the company aims to bring " unprecedented fairness, transparency, choice, control and value in the electricity retail market", saving customers up to $2 million.

“Creating value for our customers is what drives us – it’s the purpose of our innovation. And customers taking up our service, engaging with our products, giving us feedback, and spreading the word are the things that have made us successful. An idea is nothing without customers.

“What’s exciting is that this is just the beginning. We’ve got a strong innovation pipeline ahead and the team to make our dreams for customers a reality.” says O’Connor. The full list of winners is below.

2016 Flying Kiwis and inductees into the Tait Communications Hi-Tech Hall of Fame Katherine Corich Sam Morgan

Fronde Hi-Tech Young Achiever Award Winner: Danu Abeysuriya – CEO of Rush Digital

Qual IT Best Technology Solution for the Public Sector Award Winner: Silverstripe

IBM Most Innovative Company Award Winner: 90 Seconds

ATEED Best Technology Solution for the Creative Sector Award Winner: 90 Seconds

Callaghan Innovation Maori Innovation Award Winner: Precision Seafood Harvesting

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Software Product Award Winner: Movio

Endace Innovative Hardware Product Award Winner: Aeroqual

Vocus Communications Innovative Services Award Winner: Flick Electric

NZTE Most Innovative Agritech Product Award Winner: Outpost Central

Quick Circuit Innovative Mobile Award Winner: Serato

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Hi-Tech Start-up Company of the Year Winner: Figured

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year Winner: ARANZ Medical

PwC NZ Hi-Tech Company of the Year Award Winner: Vista Group

The High-Tech Awards featured 13 categories assessed by a judging panel of more than 50 people. Judges included James Caan from Dragons' Den and Linda Jenkinson, Chair of LesConcierges.

Apple's AirPods now come with 'Hey Siri' functionality
The new AirPods come with a standard case or a Wireless Charging Case that holds additional charges for more than 24 hours of listening time.
NZ investment funds throw weight against social media giants
A consortium of NZ funds managing assets worth more than $90m are appealing against Facebook, Twitter, and Google following the Christchurch terror attacks.
Poly appoints new A/NZ managing director, Andy Hurt
“We’re excited to be bringing together two established pioneers in audio and video technology to be moving forward and one business – Poly."
NVIDIA announces Jetson Nano: A US$99 tiny, yet mighty AI computer 
“Jetson Nano makes AI more accessible to everyone, and is supported by the same underlying architecture and software that powers the world's supercomputers.”
Unity and NVIDIA announce real-time ray tracing across industries
For situations that demand maximum photorealism and the highest visual fidelity, ray tracing provides reflections and accurate dynamic computations for global lighting.
Slack doubles down on enterprise key management
EKM adds an extra layer of protection so customers can share conversations, files, and data while still meeting their own risk mitigation requirements.
NVIDIA introduces a new breed of high-performance workstations
“Data science is one of the fastest growing fields of computer science and impacts every industry."
Apple says its new iMacs are "pretty freaking powerful"
The company has chosen the tagline “Pretty. Freaking powerful” as the tagline – and it’s not too hard to see why.